Preventing Drunk Driving Accidents in Illinois

Posted by on Oct 14, 2016 in Car Wrecks | 0 comments

Drunk driving accidents are one of the leading causes of traffic fatalities in America. According to data from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, more than 6,000 motor vehicle deaths could have been prevented in the entire year of 2014 if the driver at fault had not been intoxicated the time of the accident.

In Illinois, the number of deaths caused by drunk driving reported from 2003 until 2012 is at 3,866. Despite strict laws that include zero tolerance policies and DUI convictions against alcohol-impaired driving, a 2012 survey by the Behavioral Risk Fact Surveillance System found that 2.2 percent of adults in Illinois reported that they continued driving despite knowing they’ve had too much to drink.

Alcohol-impaired driving is particularly dangerous when one considers the effects intoxication can have on one’s motor and cognitive skills. As the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention points out, different levels of blood alcohol concentration lead to different effects that impede a person’s coordination, concentration, and ability to make rational decisions. Considerable impairment may be experienced at even the lowest levels of BAC. At the 0.08 percent BAC limit set in all states in America, drivers will likely experience poor muscle coordination that can affect their balance, vision, hearing, and reaction time.

It’s unfortunate that harsh penalties such as fines that could total to $25,000 and possible imprisonment for up to seven to twelve years, many drivers continue to disregard the effects of alcohol-impairment and continue to drive while drunk. As such, victims and their loved ones find little recourse for the pain and suffering they endured. For most, their only option is to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against those responsible for the accident.

Chicago car accident lawyers from Karlin, Fleisher & Falkenberg, LLC point out that very few accidents can be more thoroughly preventable as those caused by a drunk driver. Victims that have been seriously injured in drunk driving accidents should consider taking appropriate legal action and pursuing just compensation.

Read More

Your Civil Duty after Being in a Car Accident

Posted by on May 27, 2015 in Car Wrecks | 0 comments

Those who have been involved in a hit and run accident are required by law to “stop and give aid”, or if unable to, at least provide important contact information so that the necessary financial compensation will be given to the victim or victims. The driver of the vehicle who hit the victim or the victim’s property is legally bound to (1) stop, (2) present and share identification, and (3) provide necessary first-aid assistance. Even drivers who did not cause the accident can be criminally indicted if they have failed to execute these legal requirements, as well as passengers who help and assist the at-fault driver to run away from the scene. A passenger who takes over the wheel to escape the accident can also be held liable for the hit and run.

Areas such as Killen, Texas, know how difficult it is to be involved in a car accident, and they have seen their fair share of road accidents. Each year, a great number of Killen residents suffer from injuries and property damage because of other people’s recklessness and negligent behavior. The website of the Law Office of Williams Kherkher, says that victims can file a personal injury claim, not only to get financial compensation for their injuries, but also to ensure that the driver at-fault knows their mistake and is dissuaded from committing it again.

According to the website of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, it is important that the at-fault driver was aware of the collision and knowingly ran away from the scene. Nevertheless, any evidence that can point out any feasible interference that an incident occurred (or what is commonly called circumstantial evidence) can be enough proof that the driver was aware of what occurred. Depending on the state, majority of laws require drivers to stop and provide information and assistance after the collision regardless of whether or not it resulted to property damage or injury. Aside from criminal charges, hit and run can also lead to civil liabilities.

Read More

More on Hit and Run Accidents

Posted by on May 25, 2015 in Car Wrecks, Personal Injury | 0 comments

A hit-and-run can take place in any type of accident – anyone responsible for or has contributed to an accident then flew the scene can be charged with hit-and-run. Even if the injuries sustained were not significant, the act of fleeing the scene can establish liability. Hit and run accidents are treated as highly illegal because parties are legally required to follow a formal process, typically compulsory, so if anyone commits this illegal driving maneuver they are committing a crime.

An important factor for victims to present in court when they have filed for a personal injury claim is to have eye witnesses when the accident occurred. Likewise, it is just as important to have the fleeing vehicle’s license plate number, otherwise it may be necessary to hire a detective to find evidence for the case. Penalties for hit and run accidents can change from state to state; if you have hired a Boston personal injury lawyer, he or she will inform you that serious injuries or death that resulted from a hit and run may come with a felony charge in Texas. Those who result in minor damages or injuries can have misdemeanor charges.

A Westminster personal injury lawyer will likely be aware that some victims tend to become confused and agitated when they have been in a hit and run accident. One thing victims of these accidents should not do is to chase the driver of the vehicle who hit them. It is best to stay calm and remember important details that would be necessary for police reports. Having as much information as possible about the incident and the other driver’s vehicle play a major role in having a strong case against them, and the gathered information should be relayed to the police report and the accident insurance claim that you will file.

Those who have been convicted with hit and run charged can have severe legal penalties, such as suspension of driver’s license and even possibly having it permanently revoked, as some jurisdictions allow. However, the penalty will still depend in how serious the accident was and the damage and injuries it caused.

Read More